Are you a diehard Cricket fan or are you just dreading the fact that the ICC World Cup 2019 is around the corner and as a “non-follower” of the sport it would be hard for you to join in on the Cricket talks with your friends and colleagues. If you are then, don’t worry! We got you covered with the essential information about the ICC World Cup 2019. In a country that is mad about Cricket, get your necessary dose of cricketing gyaan here, read on.

The time has finally come for 10 teams to face against each other in the ultimate cricket showdown in the ICC World Cup 2019. The cricket world cup takes place every four years and this 12th edition of the legendary tournament is hosted by England and Wales. The one day ODI competition is where each team faces a 50 over innings each in a match and will be held in the duration of 46 days and 11 venues. This year is an open tournament with many teams in top form and the tournament opens with the match between England and South Africa.

ICC World Cup 2019 is the first time a tournament will run without an associate team or even a non-full member will not feature in the tournament. This is also the first time at least one full member has not qualified for the Cricket world cup. Zimbabwe and Ireland are two full members who have failed to qualify for the ICC World Cup 2019.

This is also the first time in world cup history England is hosting a Day/night match for the Cricket World Cup. As a matter of fact, England has hosted the Cricket world cup four times and all of them were day games. In the upcoming ICC World Cup 2019, England is hosting a total of seven days or night matches. Australia is the current Cricket world cup defending champions after defeating New Zealand in the 2015 Cricket world cup.

Cricket is a fierce competition and the brave and worthy succeed, We want you to benefit from your knowledge and intuition and take part in the ICC World Cup 2019 Predict & Win Contest running on and win exciting daily gifts and Mega Prizes.

How does the ICC World Cup 2019 Format work?

This year the tournament is going to be played in a Round-Robin format as all the 10 teams will play against each other in the league stage that brings it to 9 games per team. Each of the competing team gets 2 points for a win and 1 point for a tie or no result. The rules are simple – the team with the most points at the end of the league stage makes it to the top four.

What happens if the teams are tied on points?

The winner in this situation is chosen by the number of wins. If team Australia has 4 wins and ten points and India has 5 wins and ten points, India would go through to the semi-finals. If both the teams are tied on the points and the wins, then the team with the higher Net Run Rate(NRR)goes through.

New additional rules?

In the past the Super over – tiebreaker- was available only at the finals. This year the rules have changed and the World Cup will have the super over option right from semi-finals.

How much is the Prize Money?

The total prize money for the entire tournament is $10,000,000. The winner will be awarded $4,00,000, and the runner up $2,000,000. The losing semi-finalist will get $800,000 each and the winner of each league stage match gets $40,000 per win. With so much money involved, it’s bound to be a competitive tournament.

The teams, captains, and players competing for the ICC World Cup 2019:

  • India

 Virat Kohli ©, Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Y. Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami.

  • England

Eoin Morgan ©, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

  • Pakistan 

Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed (C & wicket-keeper), Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Haris Sohail, Babar Azam, Imam-ul-Haq, Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Hasnain

  • Australia 

Aaron Finch ©, David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith, Shaun Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins

  • South Africa 

Faf du Plessis ©, Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), JP Duminy, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Rassie van der Dussen.

  • Sri Lanka 

Dimuth Karunaratne ©, Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, Kusal Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Jefferey Vandersay, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Jeewan Mendis and Milinda Siriwardana.

  • New Zealand 

Kane Williamson ©, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wicket-keeper), Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Colin Munro, Ish Sodhi, Henry Nicholls, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Jimmy Neesham

  • West Indies 

Jason Holder ©, Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Sheldon Cottrell, Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Ashley Nurse, Fabian Allen, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope (wicket-keeper), Oshane Thomas, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis.

  • Bangladesh 

Mashrafe Mortaza ©, Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan (VC), Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahaman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed.

  • Afghanistan 

Gulbadin Naib ©, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Hamid Hassan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.